Register & login to add your own
events, photos, news, comments…

Christmas Party Ideas

News Forums Forum Christmas Party Ideas

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  jharbourne 3 years, 11 months ago.

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author

jharbourne
    Keymaster

Do you have any good idea for Christmas Parties for children and/or communities? I’ve been asked by some TRAs for suggestions…

I started the TRA Network so we could exchange good ideas.
    But I’m not sure if we have any good ideas yet about children’s christmas parties – we’re in fact planning one at the moment, but I’ve had no experience in organising them before.

I’ll make sure I schedule in a special evening on how to organise Christmas Parties for Communities in November next year as part of our TRA Network programme – and get some experts along.

I’m starting this forum discussion hoping that people will contribute their ideas. So come on – share your suggestions!

• We were having ours on St Nicholas Day (when many European Counties organise Father Christmas giving out presents), but now we’re having ours the week after.

• We’re starting at 5pm or 6pm, early enough for children to attend, and late enough for adults to stay on drinking afterwards.
    • We are having someone dress up as Father Christmas. I looked into costumes from Angels, but they were £180 a day to hire – so I bought one in Portugal last week for €30.
    • We are going to do a little ‘set’ in the corner of the community hall (an idea pinched from a shopping centre), a round rug on the floor, and a chair where santa sits, and a fire-place surround/mantlepiece and tree.

• We may set a time for the children to decorate the tree. We’re going with a fake one – as on the whole, it’s probably more ecological.

• Two of the residents are going to buy gender-generic presents, and wrap them for the children.

• We have balloons and helium from Argos left over from another party.